Kenaz the Torch

Light, bright, fiery red

Kenaz in my heart and head

A torch, a beacon on a hill

Lights my path and windowsill.

Crafty dwarves with skill and might

Forge for me a flaming light

Deep in Earth where caverns dire

Rejoice to see the blessed fire.

A lantern, Freyja gives to me

A blessing sure, so I can see

When midnight darkness blinds my eyes

To keeps me safe until sunrise.

Sure I am warmed by Love’s flickering flame

That quickens in me Love’s gladsome game

Just as the fire that flickers hot

Warms the meat, within the pot.

Fire of Freyja I draw you down

From starlit Asgard, where you are crowned

Fire of Ken give light and heat

This torch in my hand, gives light for my feet.

Kenaz I send you by my hand

To be for me a fire brand

A torch of understanding, wise

Until the day lights up the skies.

Copyright Alan Cole 2015

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment